The Foundation is proud to award the 2017 Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award to Nancy E. Byl, PT, MPH, PhD, FAPTA.

This award, named for the first President and Chair of the Foundation, is presented annually to individuals for outstanding service and steadfast commitment toward promoting the Foundation’s goals. Byl and her husband Fred have long been dedicated to the Foundation and have generously contributed to various fundraising initiatives and most recently the Magistro Endowment Fund. Byl also launched a personal matching gift challenge for the Center of Excellence that helped propel evidence-based research. As President of the California Physical Therapy Fund, Byl was an advocate for funding health services research through the Foundation’s Center of Excellence Campaign to which the CAL PT-FUND contributed $50,000.

Past Recipients:

2016 Steven H. Tepper, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2015 Robert C. Bartlett, PT, MA, FAPTA

2014 Alan M. Jette, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2013 Dan Riddle, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2012 Anthony Delitto, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2011 Richard K. Shields, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2010 Susan Deusinger, PT, PhD, FAPTA and Robert Deusinger, PT, PhD

2009 Stanley Paris, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2008 Nancy White, PT, MS, OSC

2007 H. Philip Vierling

2006 Rebecca Craik, PT, PhD, FAPTA

2005 Florence P. Kendall, PT, FAPTA (D)

2004 Jayne L. Snyder, PT, DPT, MA (D)

2003 Mary Ellen Michel, PhD

2002 Duane Fast, VP, The Tri W-G Group

2001 William G. Boissonnault, PT, DPT, DHSc, FAPTA, FAAOMPT

2000 Linda L. Towne, PT, MEd and Peter A. Towne, PT

1999 Marilyn Moffat, PT, DPT, PhD, FAPTA

1998 None

1997 Lawrence G. Pan, PT, PhD and Patricia A. Traynor, PT

1996 Marilyn R. Gossman, PT, PhD, FAPTA (D) and Donald Lang

1995 None

1994 James B. McKillip, PT

1993 Susan Collopy, PT and Fran Kern, PT, PhD

1992 None

1991 John HP Maley (D)

(D) Deceased