The Foundation is pleased to award the 2016 Spirit of Philanthropy Award to Marilyn Moffat, PT, DPT, PhD, DSc (hon), GCS, CSCS, CEEAA, FAPTA.

Since 2005, this award has been presented annually to donors who exhibit enthusiastic support and dedication to the growth of the Foundation and its mission. Dr. Moffat’s devotion to the Foundation is demonstrated by her generous personal contributions over the years, the establishment of the Marilyn Moffat Fund for Geriatric Research, and her commitment as a member of the Legacy Society. In addition, Dr. Moffat has previously served two terms as a member of the Foundation’s Board of Trustees (2004-2011). Currently, she serves on the Foundation’s Fundraising Committee and has been essential to the growth of the Foundation through her leadership of the President’s Sustaining Fund (PSF). In addition to her personal commitments, Dr. Moffat has helped the Foundation raise more than $2 million in the 23-year history of the split raffle, spearheaded efforts for the 2007 capital campaign by serving as Leadership Gifts Chair, and assisted the Foundation in raising over $650,000 for the annual PSF since the program began in 2012. This will be Dr. Moffat’s third Foundation award; in 2012 she was the recipient of the Innovation in Fundraising Award as well as the 1999 Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award.


Past Recipients:

2015 Lansdale and Gladys Clagett (posthumously)

2014 Magistro Family Foundation

2013 Jayne Snyder, PT, DPT, MA, FAPTA (posthumously)

2012 Not awarded

2011 Gary L. Soderburg, PT, PhD, FAPTA and his wife, Loretta Knutson, PT, PhD, PCS

2010 James B. McKillip, PT, FAPTA and Laura K. Smith, PT, PhD, FAPTA (posthumously)

2009 Rep. Jim Langevin (D-RI)

2008 Larry Pan, PT, PhD

2007 Donald F. Lang, and Francis J. Mallon, Esq.

2006 Charles M. Magistro, PT, FAPTA

2005 Senator Robert Dole