Each year, the Foundation for Physical Therapy recognizes individuals and organizations that have demonstrated a strong commitment to supporting the Foundation and advancing physical therapy research. This year’s recipients include:

Marilyn Moffat

Spirit of Philanthropy Award: Marilyn Moffat, PT, DPT, PhD, DSc (hon), GCS, CSCS, CEEAA, FAPTA

Dr. Steve Tepper

Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award: Steven H. Tepper, PT, PhD, FAPTA

DJOGlobal logo cmyk

Premier Partner in Research Award: DJO Global

Read the full press release to learn more.

Bartlett Trustee Recognition Service Award
The Robert C. Bartlett Trustee Recognition Service Award is given to honor those Trustees who are rotating off the Board for their service to the Foundation.

The award is named for Robert C. Bartlett, PT, MA, FAPTA, who served as a loyal chair and Board of Trustees member during the Foundation’s early years, providing structure and guidance to what has become a leading organization in the funding of physical therapy research.

Innovation in Fundraising Award
The Innovation in Fundraising Award is given in recognition for demonstrating leadership, creativity, and initiative to develop, coordinate and execute an innovative fundraising activity to benefit the Foundation.

Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award
Established in 1991, the Charles M. Magistro Distinguished Service Award honors an individual for outstanding service and personal commitment toward promoting the Foundation’s goals. The individual receiving the Magistro award will have made an impact on the Foundation through their leadership and guidance.

The award is named for Charles M. Magistro, PT, FAPTA, DrSci (Hon), DPT (Hon), who with Royce P. Noland Executive Director of APTA at that time conceived and directed the establishment of the Foundation for Physical Therapy in 1979.

Charles is currently an emeritus member of the Foundation’s Board of Trustees and has been a visionary leader and financial supporter of the Foundation both personally and through the Magistro Family Foundation. Magistro’s impact on the Foundation is highly reflected in the leadership and guidance he has provided over the years.

Premier Partner in Research Award
First awarded in 2008, the Premier Partner in Research Award honors generous and long-standing contributors who have made a substantial difference by supporting the Foundation and its mission.

Spirit of Philanthropy Award
Established in 2005, the Spirit of Philanthropy Award recognizes Foundation donors who have a proven record of exceptionally generous support of the Foundation and its mission to fund physical therapy research; who have demonstrated charitable responsibility through direct financial support; and who have encouraged and motivated others in philanthropy.